hauled out to dry…

I love the old Monterey shrimp boat at China Camp, and pretty much every time I go there I have to do a painting of it. The old flat-bottomed row boat has a really interesting color-texture on the bottom, so it became the focus of this painting. I started this sketch late fall and just got back to it today, working on the shadows and highlights, correcting colors and changing the sky from grey to blue. It’s always fun to play around with color, so at one point I tried purple shadows, but that drew too much attention–now, maybe a little too dark. The sky is not actually that blue, that’s just my camera’s interpretation!493w

Leave a Reply

